Van Andel Institute Graduate School Board of Directors

From left: Maria Cimitile, Ph.D., James B. Fahner, M.D., Mary O’Riordan, Ph.D., Juan R. Olivarez, Ph.D.,
Candace T. Smith-King, M.D., Peggy Farnham, Ph.D., Peter A. Jones, Ph.D., D.Sc. (hon)

Maria Cimitile, Ph.D.

Professor of Philosophy, Honors College, Grand Valley State University

James B. Fahner, M.D.

Division Chief of Pediatric Hematology/Oncology & Senior Administrative Physician for Philanthropy & Community Relations, Helen DeVos Children’s Hospital

Peggy Farnham, Ph.D.

William M. Keck Professor of Biochemistry; Vice Dean for Health and Biomedical Science Education; Chair, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Medicine; Keck School of Medicine, University of Southern California

Peter A. Jones, Ph.D., D.Sc. (hon)

Chief Scientific Officer, Van Andel Institute

Juan R. Olivarez, Ph.D.

Chairman of the Board; Distinguished Scholar in Residence for Diversity, Equity & Inclusion, Dorothy A. Johnson Center for Philanthropy, Grand Valley State University; President Emeritus, Aquinas College; Interim President, Grand Rapids Community College

Mary O’Riordan, Ph.D.

Vice Chair of the Board; Associate Dean of Graduate & Postdoctoral Studies and Frederick C. Neidhardt Collegiate Professor of Microbiology and Immunology, University of Michigan Medical School

Candace T. Smith-King, M.D.

Vice President, Spectrum Health Academic Affairs, Spectrum Health System; Pediatric Specialist, Helen DeVos Children’s Hospital